This is a read-only archive. No new posts or registrations. Privacy Page
Software

Text Change With Software Download

5 min read

This thread's last reply is from . Advice, software, and links below may be out of date — treat specific steps and download links with caution.

Looking for the outcome? Ask AI

Hi, The text on my Windows has changed in appearance. I don't know how to change it back. It gives me a headache they way it now looks. It is hard to describe, almost blurry… but not. Any idea how to make the text look normal again. I thought maybe "text size" under View on my menu bar but that did not work. Any guidance is appreciated. Dave
More information please. What was the software download that you associate with the change in screen text appearance? Is it a software that requires a specific screen resolution? (for example, a high-end game) Any changes made to your Video Adapter Driver? What type of monitor Screen (CRT, LED) Any new hardware? Changes from the native recommended screen resolution of a laptop or flat panel screen can cause distortion, and even damage to the screen.\ Best Regards
I actually added Window Washer to try it out. it happened after i added it. The change was almost like a switch from plain text to rich text. That is the only way to describe. I am certain it was not the monitor. I "fixed" the problem by doing a system restore. Which leads to a follow up question if you don't mind. I uninstalled the Windows Washer because of the problem. Would you happen to know if the system restore undid the wash? Thanks, Dave
Good Morning Dave H, You ask a question that has been argued extensively, due to the arcane and protected nature of System Restore. It is quite difficult to "examine" what files, versions, and supportive data, that might be read and preserved by System Restore. And Using a Restore Point, is an "all-or-nothing" type procedure, meaning that there is no way to "edit" the portions of a Restore snapshot, if the user wants to Restore, but also wants to be selective about specific items to be restored. Understanding the mechanism for System Restore is beyond the easy understanding of an mid-level competently savvy "Tech's" usual ability. System Restore mostly protects the user from making bad choices of installation and/or installations-gone-bad, by making many of those deliberate choices "reversible", but at the same time, ignoring many more "sophisticated" changes that the user was probably not aware of. This can include spyware/adware/virus/trojan type activity that gets duly recorded by System Restore without any awareness of whether the change would be thought of as good or bad by the user. I barely have the ability to "follow" the arguments presented by the pros, and have no ability to "explain" in this Forum setting with any degree of sensibility or reliability, what actually happens when a restore point is taken, or what may be the consequences if a Point is Restored. So I will resort to vagueness and generalities. System restore does not "back up" data, documents, or media. That is left to the user to backup, or not, via methods such as burning to CD/DVD, or using utilities like Ghost or Acronis, or backup routines, etc. So "theoretically" and as an example without implication directed to any specific owner/user…. If the owner/user got off track and browsed into an area of the internet that might be thought of as "objectionable", and then later decided to use a Windows Washer/Eraser/ type utility to remove evidence of of that browsing or downloading…. The Window Washer may securely delete various index, log, and .dat and automated Temporary and Temporary Internet files related to the "offending content". That "content" will be and remain permanently "removed", though "forensic" level investigation would often be able to "find" it. (that's another story, though). If the owner/user then decides to roll back to a previous Restore Point, no "content" is restored, but many system level files may be reproduced that relate to "procedure" that was associated with what the owner/user was doing/using to create or download the content. Thus some of the offending activity may be replaced into the current active operating system. More importantly, any operating system updates and patches, and updates to security type utilities would have to be manually replaced/updated to bring the status of the machine up to date. The above is not an "acceptable answer" but suffice it to say, that if Windows Washer is used, then "content" is pretty much gone. If System Restore is invoked, then "some or much" of the "procedural" files previously used may become active again. Thus, if a user wanted something to be gone, and used a utility like Windows Washer, it would effectively be gone. But if the user then invokes a Restore Point, some of the system level files, and quite possibly any adware/spyware/virus activity involved would be restored right along with the good stuff. So the owner/user would be well advised to run AntiVirus, AntiSpyware, after invoking a System Restore. And the owner/user would be well advised to Update the Operating System and all security related utilities. As for your your question of "can the owner/user be confident that all traces of prior activity will remain gone, if a System Restore point is invoked" I'm not sure if an answer can be given. If it was given, it would be in the range of "maybe - probably - don't know". System Restore is a "Catch-22" – darned if you do, darned if you don't. System Restore is "mostly" a good thing, and users should take advantage of it. System Restore however does not allow for specific or selective editing, so the owner user may get back, more than they wanted. The above may be a "lame explanation" or even "no explanation at all". My intent is to communicate that you cannot be confident that "all" information will remain gone after using a cleaning utility, if it is followed by invoking a prior Restore Point. You should initiate new efforts to determine if any unwanted information has been brought back into existence. This is primarily a hazard in that any adware/spyware/virus scripting that might have become associated with prior activity of the computer will be brought forward and active again when a Restore Point is Restored. Questions like the one you pose, will probably be giving headaches to users and experts long into the future. Best Regards
Thanks for your reply, Doug. I appreciate it. My main concern with the WW was about online transactions (banking etc.) and passwords (after a trojan horse virus showed up - I posted a hijackthis log) and cleaning out the junk to make my aging computer work faster. I found out, with a litte research after the fact, that shredder program was what I wanted for the first problem and it turns out my security software provides one. Thanks again for all your help. Dave

Ask AI

AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date

Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI