Hi scudo,
I've never seen that warning.
And you are correct to refrain from clicking on items when you don't know their source nor function.
Unless someone else identifies and has information for you, I would have a look at what's running via Task Manager, and look at StartUps beginning with MSCONFIG.
Eventually, you may want to post over in the Malware Removal Forum to identify or rule out any nefarious processes.
Best Regards
Hi scudo,
Like Doug I've never seen that warning either…..
It may be genuine…… but the golden rule is:
If you are not sure… then don't click on anything that agrees to do anything, or fix things……
Both of us may be being cautious here…….. but its better to be safe than sorrry!
Regards
paws
Thanks for the replies, I only use the laptop when there is an issue with my desktop so rarely used, I have had the laptop easily 6 years and never have I seen that appear before. I am not awareof changing any settings so I cant explain it. As the laptop is basically a back-up for me there is no rush to identify the warning. I will wait for a bit longer in case someone can identify it before posting in the Malware removal forum.
Thanks
Scudo
Mediaget is an "enhancement" to bittorrent. I believe it to be adware.
If you were to click on the "fix" button in the picture that you provided, I believe you would be routed to Mediaget which would do a scan and offer to make your system better than brand new if you just install their program (for a price).
If it were me… I wouldn't click on it and I would (at least attempt) to uninstall it. (I also wouldn't have bittorrent - or any of the similiar p2p programs - on my system)
Here are some instructions for removing Mediaget. (Uninstalling it using add or remove programs often doesn't work) http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=64968 - Or… you can post over in the malware removal forum and get help.