This is a read-only archive. No new posts or registrations. Privacy Page
Spyware / Malware / Virus Removal

Trojans and Anitvir Solution Pro

7 min read

This thread's last reply is from . Advice, software, and links below may be out of date — treat specific steps and download links with caution.

Looking for the outcome? Ask AI

Hello, WTT! I am in desperate need of your help as I use this laptop for my college classes. I'm working on Windows Vista Home Premium. The laptop is a HP Compaq Presario CQ60 Notebook PC. AMD Athlon Dual-Core-QL-62 2.00GHz. 2.00 GB Memory RAM. 32-bit Operating System. Please help me clear my system of these trojans and viruses. On this Antivir Solution Pro it is showing the following names as being on this laptop: Backdoor.Win32.S Downloader.Win32 Trojan PSW.Win32.Online GameThief.Win32 Downloader.JS.Agent WinWebSecurity.2 Sality.AN virus Azero.B BitTera.C P2PShared.U BankerFox.A Antivirus360 Sinowal.VXR AutorunAOL MoonLight.V Emogen.B DisableKey Edge Tech Win32/Nugel.E Best Search Win32/Wadnock CPush SillyDI BCL Zlob.AN Bancos DMD CNNIC Update U VMalum AWS Advanced Stealth Email R LdPinch V Thanking you so much for your help!
Posted Image

1. Restart your computer. As your computer restarts but before Windows launches, tap "F8" key constantly. Use the arrow keys to highlight the "Safe Mode with Networking"

2. Open Internet Explorer. Click on the Tools menu and then select Internet Options.

3. In the the Internet Options window click on the Connections tab. Then click on the LAN settings button.

4. Now you will see Local Area Network (LAN) settings window. Uncheck the checkbox labeled Use a proxy server for your LAN under the Proxy Server section and press OK.

Next:

DO NOT use any TOOLS such as Combofix or HijackThis fixes without supervision.

Doing so could make your pc inoperatible and could require a full reinstall of your OS, losing all your programs and data.


Vista and Windows 7 users:
1. These tools MUST be run from the executable. (.exe) every time you run them
2. With Admin Rights (Right click, choose "Run as Administrator")


Stay with this topic until I give you the all clean post.

You might want to print these instructions out.

I suggest you do this:

XP Users

Double-click My Computer.
Click the Tools menu, and then click Folder Options.
Click the View tab.
Uncheck "Hide file extensions for known file types."
Under the "Hidden files" folder, select "Show hidden files and folders."
Uncheck "Hide protected operating system files."
Click Apply, and then click OK.


Vista Users

To enable the viewing of hidden and protected system files in Windows Vista please follow these steps:

Close all programs so that you are at your desktop.
Click on the Start button. This is the small round button with the Windows flag in the lower left corner.

Click on the Control Panel menu option.
When the control panel opens you can either be in Classic View or Control Panel Home view:

If you are in the Classic View do the following:
Double-click on the Folder Options icon.
Click on the View tab.


If you are in the Control Panel Home view do the following:

Click on the Appearance and Personalization link.
Click on Show Hidden Files or Folders.
Under the Hidden files and folders section select the radio button labeled Show hidden files and folders.
Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide extensions for known file types.
Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide protected operating system files.



Please do not delete anything unless instructed to.


We've been seeing some Java infections lately.
Go here and follow the instructions to clear your Java Cache


Next:

Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Download - ATF CleanerΒ»
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.

If you use Firefox browser

Click Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.


It's normal after running ATF cleaner that the PC will be slower to boot the first time or two.

Next:

Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware to your desktop.

  • Double-click mbam-setup.exe and follow the prompts to install the program.
  • At the end, be sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
  • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
  • Once the program has loaded, select Perform quick scan, then click Scan.
    [external image: Posted Image]
  • When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
  • [external image: Posted Image]
  • Then click Remove Selected .
  • When completed, a log will open in Notepad. Please save it to a convenient location and post the results.
  • Note: If you receive a notice that some of the items couldn't be removed, that they have been added to the delete on reboot list, please reboot.


Also please describe how your computer behaves at the moment.


Please don't attach the scans / logs, use "copy/paste".
Hi, LDTate! I attempted to run all of this in the Safe Mode in Networking. But when I went to sign back onto the internet my Verizon Wireless Broadband service wouldn't let me. So I went back and signed in normal mode. I went back to Internet Explorer and did the LAN settings you requested along with the marking show hidden files and folders, removed the checkmark for the checkmark labeled Hide extensions for known type, & from checkmark labeld Hide protected operating systems. Also, the laptop wouldn't start up after I finished attempting to work in the Safe Mode with Networking options. I had to run repair to get it to load up again. I also tried logging back online in Safe Mode and it wouldn't work. I cleared the Java Cache. I think I ran the ATF successfully. Was there suppose to be a log at the end of this? I wasn't able to run the MBAM because I was prompted with the file was corrupted and to find a new copy of the program. I forgot to add that I received these two messages also. Msg #1: Re: Adobe AIR. The installation of this application is damaged. Try to re-installing or conduct the publisher for assistance. Msg #2: New Secunia PSI Avaliable for Download.
Download the tools needed to a flash drive or other removable media, and run them from the USB device.

Download Combofix from any of the links below but rename it to ABCD.exe before saving it to your desktop.

Link 1
Link 2 If using this link, Right Click and select Save As.


Double click on the ABCD.exe ComboFix.exe & follow the prompts.
  • When finished, it will produce a report for you.
  • Please post the C:\ComboFix.txt so we can continue cleaning the system.

**Note: If Combofix (ABCD) won't run from the desktop, try running it from the USB device.


——————————————————————–

With malware infections being as they are today, it's strongly recommended to have the Windows Recovery Console pre-installed on your machine before doing any malware removal.

The Windows Recovery Console will allow you to boot up into a special recovery (repair) mode. This allows us to more easily help you should your computer have a problem after an attempted removal of malware. It is a simple procedure that will only take a few moments of your time.


Go to Microsoft's website => http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310994

Scroll down to Step 1, and select the download that's appropriate for your Operating System. Download the file & save it as it's originally named.

Note: If you have SP3, use the SP2 package. Vista and Windows 7 users skip this part


Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools

[external image: Posted Image]


  • Drag the setup package onto ComboFix.exe and drop it.

  • Follow the prompts to start ComboFix and when prompted, agree to the End-User License Agreement to install the Microsoft Recovery Console.


    [external image: Posted Image]


  • At the next prompt, click 'Yes' to run the full ComboFix scan.

  • When the tool is finished, it will produce a report for you.
Please post the C:\ComboFix.txt in your next reply using Copy/Paste.


Notes:

Give it atleast 20-30 minutes to finish if needed.

1.Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
2. ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making I-E the default browser.
3. Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CD, floppy and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you – please tell your helper.
4. CF disconnects your machine from the internet. The connection is automatically restored before CF completes its run. If CF runs into difficulty and terminates prematurely, the connection can be manually restored by restarting your machine.

Also please describe how your computer behaves in your next reply.

Ask AI

AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date

Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI