Build Theme!
  •  
  • Infected?

WE'RE SURE THAT YOU'LL LOVE US!

Hey there! :wub: Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account. When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. You can like posts to share the love. :D Join 93081 other members! Anybody can ask, anybody can answer. Consistently helpful members may be invited to become staff. Here's how it works. Virus cleanup? Start here -> Malware Removal Forum.

Try What the Tech -- It's free!

Photo

Waiting for the netwrok. wireless issue

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Ceeker

Ceeker

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 02:13 PM

Hi I'm new to what the tech and after some googling this seems like the only place i can turn to for my wireless woes. Router/WAP = SMC280WBRP-G NIC=DWA-542 (range booster N) I've purchased a new wireless adapter for a computer in my home. after installing it, the drivers and attempting to use windows XP to connect to my router/WAP, it hangs on "waiting for the network". I've been pulling my hair out on this one for a few days as i cant seem to figure out how to connect to my network. Here's what I've tried so far: Hardware wise I've tried the adapter in my Vista machine that worked fine. I've also completely removed the card from the problem XP machine. removed the drivers using a driver cleaner and reinstalling both card and drivers. No luck. Router/WAP wise i've tried. No encrpytion (WEP/WPA/802) changing my SSID. Changing my channel and trying "auto" channel. Disabling/enabling "g-nitro" (SMC speed booster thingy) and tried DHCP and static IPs In windows. tried disabling/enabling wireless zero service. manually assinging an IP (using ISP DNS) releasing/renewing. manually setting up a wireless profile and using some netsh commands. I can detect the network. it has full signal