Received a big MS update the other day. Loaded the update. When I started up this morning, the update configured my machine and everything seemed to be OK. Noticed that my resolution had changed. Tried to change the resolution and had no luck. Just seemed to make things worse. Kind of paniced and went to restore. Went back a couple of days. ("may take a few minutes") At least a half hour later, the restore seemed to work. When the machine tried to boot up, Win tried twice and failed. That put me into the Win startup failure resolve menu. That seemed to get me back up with my origional configuration although I see the MS Security Essencials Icon is not on the task bar. The program says its running although no icon. Everything seems to be OK although the importance of good backups has been reinforced. I guess my question is: I think the update has been downloaded again. I'm configured to download but not install without my appovial. What should I do? I don't want to go through this crap again but I don't want to pass up an important update.
Win 7 Pro 64
Last update now shows as 4/06 KB 3035583
Moniter is SincMaster 1680X1050
Thanks, Johnny