Build Theme!
  •  
  • Infected?

WE'RE SURE THAT YOU'LL LOVE US!

Hey there! :wub: Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account. When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. You can like posts to share the love. :D Join 93084 other members! Anybody can ask, anybody can answer. Consistently helpful members may be invited to become staff. Here's how it works. Virus cleanup? Start here -> Malware Removal Forum.

Try What the Tech -- It's free!

Photo

Frustration learning .Net programming

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ToddB

ToddB

Authentic Member

• Authentic Member
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 15 January 2011 - 08:33 PM

I am a programmer by trade although my expertise lies within legacy mainframe (Cobol, JCL, etc.). I decided some time ago to go back to school and get instruction in VB & C#.Net and MS SQL. I also have available to me a lot of online classes in C#. The problem with the online classes is they are not in a progression and I do not know enough about C# to know which class to take in a logical progression. The shift from procedural programming to an object mindset has been hard for me and I am getting frustrated with my progress. I was hoping to get some input as to the best way to “learn” a language such as C#? Would learning VB first be beneficial then C#? Should I focus initially on OOP concepts and structure before I learn a particular language? Which is the best way to learn OOP and a language “hands on” (i.e. doing) vs my online work which is just reading/listening and taking a short test afterwards. I feel these online classes could be beneficial it is just the C# platform seems so vast and comprehensive I just don’t know a logical progression to tackle it. I “think” what I am looking for is just an approach to get a solid understanding