Jump to content

Build Theme!
  • Infected?


Hey there! :wub: Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account. When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. You can like posts to share the love. :D Join 92291 other members! Anybody can ask, anybody can answer. Consistently helpful members may be invited to become staff. Here's how it works. Virus cleanup? Start here -> Malware Removal Forum.

Try What the Tech -- It's free!


Lavasoft Blacklisting

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 padawan


    Aluria Tester

  • Authentic Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Interests:Anything Interesting...

Posted 25 September 2003 - 05:36 PM

Recently it was discovered that Lavasoft's AdAware was blacklisting the url of www.aluriasoftware.com, as a possible attempt to control/redirect users browsers. It was further stated that we used Favoriteman as an affiliate to distribute unsolicited urls. We do use an independent reseller system, as do many corporations and from time to time a reseller may use methods to promote our products that we do not approve of and they are always shut down. We are not involved with installing, using, or promoting spyware of any kind now nor will we ever be. Our main concern is your safety and freedom from spyware and it cannot be emphasized enough that these tactics and methods if used are not now and will never be tolerated by us. We have asked them to review the listing and make the appropriate changes.

Edited by padawan, 25 September 2003 - 07:55 PM.


Register to Remove

#2 Coyote



  • Authentic Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts

Posted 25 September 2003 - 06:53 PM

The above posting is from Aluria Spyware Eliminator and has no bearing on TomCoyote forums, this website has allowed this posting to let the users of the software know why Lavasoft has labeled them as "blacklisted". TomCoyote does not make any money nor gratuity from any program and has no intentions of doing any advertisments for money in the near future, this website is possible only due to Tom Coyote Wilson's personal payments made to make it happen and a few donations through the Paypal link on the "Oldsite" pages. Tom Coyote Wilson
Go forth and conquer your goals with the renewed spirit of Coyote and do not let small setbacks stop you from Your Dreams

Microsoft MVP 2006-2007

May your day be blessed by those you love and those you love be blessed by HIM ;-)

#3 mitchshrader


    Authentic Member

  • Authentic Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 September 2003 - 07:16 PM

I personally do not have information concerning *potential* mis-use by affiliates of any Aluria products (to install browser hijackers) but it is very difficult to prove a negative. I believe that there is not now, nor has their been, any reason to blacklist Aluria products. Should anyone have proof otherwise, I would be most interested in such. I find the 'blacklisting' by Adaware suspiciously self-serving and do not agree that it is appropriate. MitchShrader

Related Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users