Build Theme!
  •  
  • Infected?

WE'RE SURE THAT YOU'LL LOVE US!

Hey there! :wub: Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account. When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. You can like posts to share the love. :D Join 93084 other members! Anybody can ask, anybody can answer. Consistently helpful members may be invited to become staff. Here's how it works. Virus cleanup? Start here -> Malware Removal Forum.

Try What the Tech -- It's free!

Photo

Former (?) "search Assistent" Victim

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 mollymail

mollymail

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 January 2005 - 06:59 PM

After many hours of trying I may have been able to kill the "Home Search Assistent" and "about:blank" hijacker, which I think may also be known as CoolWebSearch. I'm not a PC expert but I am PC literate (I am an embedded SW engineer) and I wanted to share my experience in case the information could be of use to someone else. When I began trying to rid my PC of this problem I was using NoAdware, Norton Antivirus and YourUninstaller (trial version). It soon became apparent that Norton Antivirus was powerless against this threat. It completely failed to detect it much less wipe it out. NoAdware was able to find some registry entries that were called "troj_agent.BM" that appeared to be related to CoolWebSearch and would wipe them out but if you ran NoAdware again a few minutes later they were back in again. Not much use. Also while working on the problem I tried to use the uninstaller several times on "Home Search Assistent" and "Shopping Wizard" and "Search Extender". Each time it would uninstall them but they would soon reappear. I then downloaded AdAware and it was able to find many more suspect files and registry entries than NoAware and wiped them out. It also uninstalled t