This is a read-only archive. No new posts or registrations. Privacy Page
Software

image

3 min read

This thread's last reply is from . Advice, software, and links below may be out of date — treat specific steps and download links with caution.

Looking for the outcome? Ask AI

When I want to image one time as a full back up but still keep the previous full back up, should I keep the default check which says overwrite the previous back up, or uncheck it.
I have been doing this for along time and alway left the default check in the box to over write.
What I don't understand is, if the previous one is overwritten, why does it function when I have recovered with this previous one in the past. The wording has me thrown off.
My goal is to have 2 usable backups. ..
The way you backup, uncheck overwrite. Another way is to backup to two different folders and rotate on each backup. That's what I used to do.

Now I use Chain2Gen to manage this for me but it takes a bit of setting up. I think I mentioned this before, but I have 4 backup sets (generations) managed by Chain2Gen. Each set contains 1 full and 6 incremental backups. I always have a minimum of 21 days and a max of 28 I can restore to. Acronis runs automatically at 10:30PM then shuts down the computer when down.
The attachement shows what I am trying to put into words. I have kept checked the box under full (checked is the default) for years and always have been able to recover a full system backup. I guess the words previous archive and previous backup have me confused. Practically, if it has worked being checked I would continue to do so but do not want to learn to do something the wrong way. What would happen to the previously imaged back up I want to keep beside the one I am making if I unchecked the box?
With the box checked, the existing backup should be replaced by the new one. With it unchecked, both should be there when the backups process finishes. Do you backup to the same location each time?
Yes, I always do the same thing; check off the entire first disc, as what is to be backed up, select a new new back up as opposed to an existing one, select the drive of My Book like F:\ with a date and tib as a location , select backup Full with the box checked, run the backup then validate.
I check the location each time and there are the two images. Both have been used by me and work.

So we agree the way it is worded with the box checked the first should be overwritten by the second.
I just do not know what over written means but if it is what i think it is then the first should be gone.

Perhaps saying a new rather than an existing one, maks the diffrence??
Ah ha! You are not using a scheduled Acronis backup, you do it over from scratch each time. Specifying the date as part of the name means there will never be a name collision so the existing backup will be left alone, unless you run it more than once in the same day (or is the time also part of the name?). Checking or unchecking the box has no effect at all then.
No I do not use time but I will. You are worth your salt as 9 out of 10 could not figure that out.I now understand it. Can't thank you enough. I hope a moderator takes a look at your insightfulness and recognizes your worth. Thank you again. Try and Decide reliable or not?

Ask AI

AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date

Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI