Build Theme!
  •  
  • Infected?

WE'RE SURE THAT YOU'LL LOVE US!

Hey there! :wub: Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account. When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. You can like posts to share the love. :D Join 93084 other members! Anybody can ask, anybody can answer. Consistently helpful members may be invited to become staff. Here's how it works. Virus cleanup? Start here -> Malware Removal Forum.

Try What the Tech -- It's free!

Photo

Continuing Communications

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sLeven7

sLeven7

Authentic Member

• Authentic Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Posted 09 October 2010 - 08:13 PM

I'm new to Linux and Mint so please bare with me. I installed LM9 Gnome on a Core2 Duo with a cat5 cable connection to the net. I have noticed, while using the system monitor, that at times with no applications running there is still a 1k to 2k stream of info being sent and received. On a fresh boot the send/receive streams are next to nil, with an occasional spike which I assumed was the system checking for updates. This happens after I have used Firefox and have shut it down, also it does not happen every time I use Firefox, just most of the time. I have left it for long periods of times with no applications other than the system monitor running and the stream is still there. How can I find out what program is streaming and what is being sent?
Ask, and you shall receive.

Advertisements

Register to Remove

#2 Doug

Doug

Retired Administrator -Tech Team

• Tech Team
  • 10,057 posts

Posted 10 October 2010 - 11:41 AM

hi Sleven7,

Though I run a couple of "out of the box" Linux distros, I am not conversant with command line interface nor familiar with enough about Linux systems to be of any use to you or your question.