Win XP Defragging Question
17 min read
Kaz does not seem to be around at the moment so until he gets back, here's some thoughts for you.
1 Your D drive is for restoring your system to "factory" ie its only to be used to put the computer back in the position it was in when it left the factory.
2 You should not do anything at all with your D drive, until you come to use it for its real purpose, and then only if all other usual fixes have failed to get your system running satisfactorily.
3 No applications that you have installed should be writing to the D drive, any that do are candidates for uninstallation.
4 Do not attempt to defrag your D drive
To answer your specific points, Kaz was able to deduce that data was being written to the D drive, because the free space on it is getting smaller! (It should generally remain static) and you mentioned Google had written data to it.
Your System Restore (see this link) http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/h…temrestore.mspx
should be monitoring your c drive (which is your boot drive) but there is little point in having it monitor your d drive so it would be wise for you to check exactly what drives it is monitoring.
Two further points; it's easy sometimes for folks to confuse the System Restore facility (mentioned in the above link to Microsoft)with the Manufacturers' restore disc or partition . The two things are entirely separate.
Post back if you need any further info
Regards
paws
I am back from my spin in the work world again. I do leave for days at a time.
I said in my first post :
I can not tell you what should be there in the Recovery partition from where I sit, and what has been added. But I am guessing that you already know which app is causing the problem. "Desktop Data"
Be curious to know what PATH this is all at:
Fragments File Size Files that cannot be defragmented
8 120 MB \Google Desktop Data\3c9bb886245a\DBEAM
4 80 MB \Google Desktop Data\3c9bb886245a\DBDAM
22 260 MB \Google Desktop Data\3c9bb886245a\RPM.CF1
35 260 MB \Google Desktop Data\3c9bb886245a\RPM1M.CF1
2 20 MB \Google Desktop Data\3c9bb886245a\SAFEWEB\goog-black-enchashm.cf1
Is this all going to the Recovery partition or D drive?
In asking previous about what the make and manufacturer was, Hp's were known for kicking this low diskspace warning right after creating Recovery disks. There was a downloadable fix for that. I have found nothing for The E-machine.
I know I could spend all day asking Google these questions and probably
figure all this out myself, I'm pretty good at that,
but that's why I'm here!! haha
I am certain that is where we are all looking for clues to this problem and I have found several workarounds by doing so. You may as well.
Take a look at what is in the "D" drive and list what files and folders are in there. If you want to make a post of them we might be able to figure out what should be there.
Once you have a good idea and can make a reasonable judgement of what should not be there, You can move them from "D" to "C". This will temporarily reduce or stop the warnings for awhile.
There are some registry changes that will turn off notification of lowdisk space, but does not solve the problem of things being written there.
A Google on Google says:
.Google Desktop creates cached copies (snapshots) of your files and other items each time you view them, and stores these copies on your computer's hard drive. As a result, you can often use Desktop to find items you accidently deleted, instead of having to recreate them from scratch
Looks to be a feature and not a bug.
As I understand from what I read, Google indexes all drives. Makes sense it would store what it indexes on the drive it has the index for.
But I still think the Google programmers would not allow this situation, and I think something is not quite right.
So, the fix maybe in getting Google desktop to stop indexing your recovery partition?
Here is a suggestion.
1. Right-click on the Google Desktop icon in your system tray.
2. Select "Indexing"
See if you can change what is indexed, is there an option?
Or maybe
1. On your Google Desktop homepage, click the "Desktop Preferences" link.
2. Click on the "Local Indexing" link underneath the Google Desktop logo.
3. On the Local Indexing tab, within the "Search These Locations" section.
Can you change or remove your drive from being indexed?
I dont own this program, I dont like the idea of sending information out of my computer personal or not of my browsing habits. (Yes it does do that)
About the registry changes I can not or will not advise you do them, simply because I dont want the trouble or blame if this causes problems with your installation. I can advise if you do use registry changes, make a full backup of the registry so you can put things back to original if they dont do what you want them to do.
Regards
Kaz
Ask AI
AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date
Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI