This is a read-only archive. No new posts or registrations. Privacy Page
Spyware / Malware / Virus Removal

Laptop Service [Solved]

7 min read

This thread's last reply is from . Advice, software, and links below may be out of date — treat specific steps and download links with caution.

Looking for the outcome? Ask AI

Hi,

 

I upgraded to Windows 10 and re-installed MBMA succesfully, log -

 

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
www.malwarebytes.org
 
Scan Date: 23/08/2015
Scan Time: 09:24
Logfile: 
Administrator: Yes
 
Version: 2.1.8.1057
Malware Database: v2015.08.23.01
Rootkit Database: v2015.08.16.01
License: Premium
Malware Protection: Enabled
Malicious Website Protection: Enabled
Self-protection: Disabled
 
OS: Windows 10
CPU: x64
File System: NTFS
User: Steven
 
Scan Type: Threat Scan
Result: Completed
Objects Scanned: 362888
Time Elapsed: 13 min, 34 sec
 
Memory: Enabled
Startup: Enabled
Filesystem: Enabled
Archives: Enabled
Rootkits: Disabled
Heuristics: Enabled
PUP: Warn
PUM: Enabled
 
Processes: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Modules: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Registry Keys: 1
PUP.Optional.MultiPlug.A, HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432NODE\MICROSOFT\WINDOWS\CURRENTVERSION\UNINSTALL\{1146AC44-2F03-4431-B4FD-889BC837521F}{c31ed948}, Quarantined, [a79675974d3e6dc999c541686e961ce4], 
 
Registry Values: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Registry Data: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Folders: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Files: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
Physical Sectors: 0
(No malicious items detected)
 
 
(end)
 
thanks
 
St3liz

No, all seems good now.

 

I have noticed that with Windows 10 my laptop now takes 10x longer to start up, do you know if the old windows OS is automatically deleted?

 

Thanks for your help

 

St3liz

It is not deleted; a copy is kept in case you want to revert back to the previous operating system.

 

You have plenty of RAM and enough space on your hard drive for it not to have made a difference speed-wise.

If after a while you are happy with the new operating system you can delete the folder that contains the old version and your old files.

 

Note: you'll no longer be able to revert to the old operating system once you've deleted the folder.

 

It can be found at C:\Windows.old

 

Are you happy for me to close this now or do you have any other concerns?

Ask AI

AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date

Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI