XP Antivirus 2011 Virus
16 min read
DO NOT use any TOOLS such as Combofix or HijackThis fixes without supervision.
Doing so could make your pc inoperatible and could require a full reinstall of your OS, losing all your programs and data.
Vista and Windows 7 users:
1. These tools MUST be run from the executable. (.exe) every time you run them
2. With Admin Rights (Right click, choose "Run as Administrator")
Stay with this topic until I give you the all clean post.
You might want to print these instructions out.
I suggest you do this:
XP Users
Double-click My Computer.
Click the Tools menu, and then click Folder Options.
Click the View tab.
Uncheck "Hide file extensions for known file types."
Under the "Hidden files" folder, select "Show hidden files and folders."
Uncheck "Hide protected operating system files."
Click Apply, and then click OK.
Vista Users
To enable the viewing of hidden and protected system files in Windows Vista please follow these steps:
Close all programs so that you are at your desktop.
Click on the Start button. This is the small round button with the Windows flag in the lower left corner.
Click on the Control Panel menu option.
When the control panel opens you can either be in Classic View or Control Panel Home view:
If you are in the Classic View do the following:
Double-click on the Folder Options icon.
Click on the View tab.
If you are in the Control Panel Home view do the following:
Click on the Appearance and Personalization link.
Click on Show Hidden Files or Folders.
Under the Hidden files and folders section select the radio button labeled Show hidden files and folders.
Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide extensions for known file types.
Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide protected operating system files.
Please do not delete anything unless instructed to.
Open Taskmanager (Ctrl/Alt/Del) and end the process for: pw.exe MSASCui.exe
If listed
Click: Start > All Programs> Accessories
Open Notepad, click on Format and uncheck Word Wrap.
1. launch Notepad (Start>All Programs>Accessories), and copy/paste all the Quoted REGEDIT below to it. Don't forget to include REGEDIT4.
Save in: Desktop
File Name: fixme.reg
Save as Type: All files
Click: Save
REGEDIT4
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\pezfile
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\pezfile
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\.exe\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "%1" %*]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\pezfile\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "%1" %*]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.exe\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "%1" %*]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\pezfile\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "%1" %*]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\FIREFOX.EXE\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\FIREFOX.EXE\shell\safemode\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -safe-mode]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Clients\StartMenuInternet\IEXPLORE.EXE\shell\open\command "(Default)" = "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe" /START "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center "AntiVirusOverride" = "1"]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center "FirewallOverride" = "1"]
2. Save this text as fixme.reg. Make sure the "Save as type:" is "All Files (*.*)" and save it to your desktop.
3. Double-click on fixme.reg. When it asks you to merge the information to the registry click Yes.
Next:
Delete these files if found. %UserProfile% is your user name and any other users.
C:\Documents and Settings\%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\pw.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\MSASCui.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\pw.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\MSASCui.exe
We've been seeing some Java infections lately.
Go here and follow the instructions to clear your Java Cache
Next:
Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Download - ATF Cleaner»
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
It's normal after running ATF cleaner that the PC will be slower to boot the first time or two.
Next:
Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware to your desktop.
- Double-click mbam-setup.exe and follow the prompts to install the program.
- At the end, be sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
- If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
- Once the program has loaded, select Perform quick scan, then click Scan.
[external image: Posted Image] - When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
- [external image: Posted Image]
- Then click Remove Selected .
- When completed, a log will open in Notepad. Please save it to a convenient location and post the results.
- Note: If you receive a notice that some of the items couldn't be removed, that they have been added to the delete on reboot list, please reboot.
Also please describe how your computer behaves at the moment.
Please don't attach the scans / logs, use "copy/paste". .
Whatever mode you can work with, but Normal would be best.Thanks, Nate.
Should this be done in SAFE mode?
Yes you can but MBAM might clean it.I will copy the REGEDIT from here and put it on a flash drive. I would assume I could do that for the programs like ATF cleaner and MALWARE bytes?
If MBAM finishes post the results and reboot in Normal Mode and let me know how it goes
Yes, I hope so.I will run the REGEDIT4 from the flash drive. Maybe you are telling me that by doing that, I should be able to again get to the internet from the laptop?
Any tools I ask you to run can be downloaded to you flash drive and transfered over to the infected pc.
If the tool won't run on the infected pc, then try running it from the flash drive.
I cannot delete the pw.exe.
Then it says to clear Java Cache, then ATF cleaner, etc….
Should I proceed through the entire instructions even if I cannot delete the pw.exe file?
Yes move on.I am following your instructions above. After the fixme.reg is says to delete the pw.exe files.
I cannot delete the pw.exe.
Then it says to clear Java Cache, then ATF cleaner, etc….
Should I proceed through the entire instructions even if I cannot delete the pw.exe file?
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam-download-…lone-random.php
Ask AI
AI can make mistakes. Check the cited posts. Archived advice can be out-of-date
Don't include personal information. Questions and selected public posts go to OpenAI. About Ask AI