Answers to your tech questions
Computer forums for help with removing malicious software (malware) and improving computer security

Welcome Guest to What the Tech! ( Log In | Register ) We specialize in the removal of malicious software (malware), but here you'll find free help and support for all your tech questions. We invite you to ask questions, share experiences, and learn. Explore our message boards, or register now to post messages of your own. Please Start Here. Register today (registration removes advertising)

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fake sites... copying CastleCops, PC World, others
AplusWebMaster
post May 22 2008, 04:37 PM
Post #1


AplusWebMaster
*****

Group: Authentic Member
Posts: 3,585
Joined: 30-December 03
From: USA
Member No.: 1,643
Operating System: WinXP



FYI...

- http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/05/no...castlecops.html
May 22, 2008 - "No, this is not CastleCops
mezzicodec(dot)net masquerades as the legitimate CastleCops site... The site is mirroring, in near real-time, CastleCops. It seems to be primarily used for SEO purposes and possibly to steal valid user accounts, but could serve malware or exploits. Avoid this site."

- http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/05/ra...g-pc-world.html
May 22, 2008 - "As a follow-up to my post earlier today about a fake CastleCops page, there’s more to the story. There are other domains sharing the same IP (207.226.177.250):
pepato org
slim-cash com
spyware-wiper com
Cpaypal com
Crazycounter net
All are copying legitimate sites. Pepato is loading a fake dvdplanet.com page... These domains belong to the "Vladzone" malware gang. A while back, we believe that they were responsible for DDoS attacks against webhelper4u.com (Patrick Jordan, who works for Sunbelt) and spamhuntress.com — and maybe a few others. I would not visit these sites."

(Screenshots available at both Sunbeltblog URLs above.)

ranting.gif mad.gif ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Time is now: 1st December 2008 - 09:34 PM
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk.
Member site: Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals | UNITE Against Malware
© Geeks to Go, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy