Answers to your tech questions
Computer forums for help with removing malicious software (malware) and improving computer security

Welcome Guest to What the Tech! ( Log In | Register ) We specialize in the removal of malicious software (malware), but here you'll find free help and support for all your tech questions. We invite you to ask questions, share experiences, and learn. Explore our message boards, or register now to post messages of your own. Please Start Here. Register today (registration removes advertising)

      
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> U.S. Treasury phish
AplusWebMaster
post May 1 2008, 01:01 PM
Post #1


AplusWebMaster
*****

Group: Authentic Member
Posts: 3,657
Joined: 30-December 03
From: USA
Member No.: 1,643
Operating System: WinXP



FYI...

- http://blog.trendmicro.com/a-treasury-trove-of-phish/
May 1, 2008 - "At its official Web site*, the U.S. Treasury Department Federal Credit Union (TDFCU) makes known that its mission is “to serve the financial needs of our members as a safe and sound cooperative financial institution under sponsorship of the Department of the Treasury.” Its members include employees of the Treasury Department, Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Courts, and other similar companies & organizations in similar fields of government service. The TDFCU also has members who live, work, and do business with other similar governmental organizations located in Washington, D.C. Recently, the TrendLabs Content Security team came across the phishing URL:
hxxp ://75.145.112.12 /homepage /www .tdfcu .org/index .php
This loads a spoofed Web site that bears a close resemblance to the legitimate TDFCU’s online login page. This -bogus- site also lacks SSL security, as indicated by the absence of the lock icon in the status bar and the protocol used by the Web site... Like previous IRS-related phishing cases, this one could be targeting more high-profile personalities since members may belong to important government institutions (as mentioned in the beginning of this post).
The TDFCU reminds its members that it does not send out e-mail requesting that the recipient download information onto their computers. At the legitimate TDFCU website, they advise: “If you receive a request that appears to be from the Treasury Department Federal Credit Union with attachments requesting that you download information to your computer for security, DO NOT DO IT.”
* https://www.tdfcu.org/

ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by AplusWebMaster: May 1 2008, 01:05 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Time is now: 7th October 2008 - 12:16 PM
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk.
Member site: Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals | UNITE Against Malware
© Geeks to Go, Inc. | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy